Smith & Wesson Model 66 - Old or New?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was a cop in NJ late 70's-80's. 9mms were starting to slowly work their way into the mix as duty sidearms in that Era.
I worked for the State and our issued sidearm was the 66 4" with mandatory issued Pachmyr Presentation grips. The fancy, dancy finger groove ones were an option for female officers only.

Mine was flawless in every way and I shot very well with it at the range and for qualifications.
Years later, my wife was going to buy me one but the guy in the gun store talked her into buying a 686 instead. Pre-lock....I love my 686 but miss the 66.

Last edited:
slightly off topic but hopefully relevant: gb.com has many postings for s&w 10-x, 38sp, 4", 6-shot, police turn in revolvers, listed in fair condition for mid $200s. i emailed a couple of sellers to learn more but got in reply, "we don't know, dropped shipped unseen from our (unstated) distributor's warehouse..."

does anyone know any specific information about these current, specific, listings? bought one? i'm a shooter, not a collector, so a reliable, well loved/predinged, old school, blued steel revolver is just the ticket. thanks, and answers will hopefully be helpful to o.p. as well.

Considering that a lot of police agencies started phasing out revolvers in the late 80s/early 90s a lot of the "police trade in" 10s/64s in circulation now came from places like prisons and security companies(including armored trucks).