Seltos with Gamma T-GDI on Rotella T6?

Hi,

yesterday I took my car for my first oil change in the US and requested to have a fully synthetic oil that matches my car's oil specifications.
I am no engine expert and the shop put in Rotella T6 5W40. After doing some online research, I realised this is a truck/diesel oil and after reading this: https://motoroilbasics.com/motor-oil-and-gdi-engines.php

started to worry about my new (3k Miles) engine.

Should I go back and request a replacement with a suitable oil due to concerns around deposits on the valves, or is this still a suitable engine oil that should work well in a T-GDI engine for 6 months?

Please advise. Thank you.

BR,
Mike

Last edited:
I wouldn't worry about intake deposits, it should be fine, the biggest issue with diesel is that it has higher than allowed for phosphorous content than passenger car oil, phosphorous can contribute to poisoning of catalytic converter, it's not a huge issue if the car isn't consuming a lot of oil, you should be fine running it this one oil change but going forward I'd just use a passenger car oil, something like 5w30 or 10w30 Quaker State Synthetic.

Which engine is in your Kia Seltos?
He said Gamma-T which would be the 1.6L T-GDI engine, this is a canadian 2021 manual I found online, looks like you can use just about anything, although I probably wouldn't use a CK-4 oil that's not dual rated.

1621029406905.jpg

The viscosity chosen is appropriate for the engine and personally I'd prefer a 40 weight with summer approaching.

The only drawback to that oil is the level of additives which as mentioned above can contribute to early catalytic converter failure, but typically only if the engine consumes oil. For one oil change, I wouldn't give it a second thought, Rotella T6 is a great oil.

IMHO, xW-40 is a better choice for a turbo'ed engine than xW-30.