RX8 Mazda Oil

Ndx

I heard that Apex Seals don't like synthetic oils ... Because they need to burn it ... Thx

Use Mazda oil, using synthetic in a rotary is not recommended. If you wanted a good 5W/20 like GTX or Pennzoil YB instead of Mazda "brand" that would work too.

I do wonder if Mazda has any problem using Group III synthetics in the rotaries? Or if they were just talking about PAO based oils?

Last edited:
 Originally Posted By: Nickdfresh
I do wonder if Mazda has any problem using Group III synthetics in the rotaries? Or if they were just talking about PAO based oils?
I am not a raotary expert but I have heard of two issues and can think of a third. The first is that synthetics do not burn as easily as petroleum based oils and the Renesis engine injects oil into the combustion process. The second is that a film is left once the synthetics are inefficiently burned in the combustion process and that has a detrimental effect. The main issue for me would be the avoiding of my warranty and Mazda is not shy about doing that.

If you are getting "carbon/gum" buildup, +1 on low ash (<0.9%) and I would also recommend low VII content which a 5w-20 would have and a real synth grp iv/v blend would/should have none. Gee why didnt they put in a tank you could fill with TWC3 outboard oil? These oils have ~1/2 the flash of conventional motor oils.

Last edited: