Rust-oleum vs Ace Rust Stop

JHZR2

Staff member
I want to paint some metal with a rust preventive paint. I have Ace with their rust stop line, and Rust Oleum is everywhere. Which is better? I’m looking at both spray and paint in a can.

I built a play house some years back and made a fire pole and ladder out of galvanized conduit. I cleaned it with ospho and sprayed it with international harvester red Ace Rust Stop spray paint. It has held up and adhered well for years in the elements including direct afternoon sun.

But wondering what others’ experience is. My project is nothing critical, and easy to redo, but curious all the same to get the best product…

Thanks!

I'm not a paint expert at all. Some years ago I investigated solvent based paint quality and consulted a paint engineer at a local small paint manufacturer that sold Coronado Paints (now part of Benjamin Moore) . Alkyd based solvent paint like Rustoleum is the first level in paint quality from my learning experience. It is mediocre in shine retention, hardness, chalking/wear. Outdoors you get maybe 3 to 6 years before it starts to degrade. At my workplace I thought maybe I was getting a very slightly better product by moving up to a polyurethane alkyd enamel: https://www.benjaminmoore.com/en-us...stains/product-catalog/crs/coronado-rust-scat My opinion is that maybe it is a trace better than plain alkyd enamel..... the polyurethane content is tiny and it is mostly marketing. From this paint company I also tried a fast dry version with hardener: https://www.rustoleum.com/en/produc...-performance/alkyd-coatings/alkyd-accelerator It helped a bit, but maybe only added another year or two before paint degradation. Very dangerous to inhale, these isocyanate hardeners. they are more effective with paints designed as two component (alkyd is not).