Running 2-stroke gas in all equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does anybody run one fuel for their 4-stroke and 2-stroke equipment? I’ve run plenty of Amsoil 100:1 (mixed around 60-80:1) through my 4-strokes with no apparent ill effect. Is there any particular problem with this? I really like the idea of only having one tank of gas to deal with.

Darren,

I've been doing the exact same thing for about ten years, only I do mix @ 100:1. The ester basestock seems to keep the carbs nice and clean and I figure having some oil in there prevents corrosion in the off season. It doesn't seem to have any effect on spark plug deposits, as I'm sure you've noticed.

My original goal was to provide some additional upper cylinder lubrication, but I'm not convinced there is such a thing ...

A local oudoor power equipment place(now closed, owners retired) used to run mixed gas in everything, 2-stroke and 4-stroke. I don't know the exact ratio they used, but they used nothing but 2-cycle-mixed super unleaded. I'd guess the Amsoil at 60:1 or less would work well in the 4-cycle stuff.

The fishing lodge I own runs 50:1 in everthing, which includes a gmc truck, honda pressure washer, lawmower, kaw mules.

Ben,

What about the long lecture that we were supposed to use 32:1 in order to get the best performance/protection?

Do you prefer the leaner mix ratio's only for the watercooled two strokes?

confused.gif

"What about the long lecture that we were supposed to use 32:1 in order to get the best performance/protection?"