Rhino Ramps question

Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
I have a set of 8000 lb limit Rhino Ramps. Work well with my Toyota and the Grand Prix I just sold. I now have an '05 Explorer. Do I need the 12000 lb ramps or will the 8000 Rhino's be ok with the heavier Explorer? [Confused] [ July 29, 2005, 10:26 PM: Message edited by: Colt ]
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
quote:
Originally posted by wavinwayne: Does your Explorer weigh 8000 lbs or less? If so, you can use the Rhino 8000's. I have the same ones, btw, & I love them.
I thought they'd work well. Just needed some reassurance before getting underneath the Explorer. [Wink] What the heck would the 12000 lb ramps be good for?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
7,550
Location
North Alabama
quote:
Originally posted by Colt: ....What the heck would the 12000 lb ramps be good for?
Colt, I'm sorry; I can't resist. The Rhino 12000's would be good for.......ummmmmmm.......vehicles that weigh up to 12000 lbs. [Smile] Ohhhhhhhh, I'm here all week, folks. [Big Grin]
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
quote:
Originally posted by wavinwayne:
quote:
Originally posted by Colt: ....What the heck would the 12000 lb ramps be good for?
Colt, I'm sorry; I can't resist. The Rhino 12000's would be good for.......ummmmmmm.......vehicles that weigh up to 12000 lbs. [Smile] Ohhhhhhhh, I'm here all week, folks. [Big Grin]

[LOL!] Somehow I'd feel more confortable with the 12000's but will stay with the 8000's. [Smile]
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2004
Messages
1,910
Location
Vista, CA
If the ramps are 8000 pounds EACH (jack stands are rated each) and your Exploder weighs 5000 pounds and you only put one wheel on each ramp, I think you might be okay. If you put four wheels on one ramp, would you send us a picture.
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
quote:
Originally posted by LarryL: If the ramps are 8000 pounds EACH (jack stands are rated each) and your Exploder weighs 5000 pounds and you only put one wheel on each ramp, I think you might be okay. If you put four wheels on one ramp, would you send us a picture.
[Razz] [stretch] [Big Grin]
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
7,550
Location
North Alabama
Colt, Is your Explorer a 4x4? If so, try putting it in 4-low, push the ramps up against the front tires, & then try to drive up on them. But, I guess it's a moot point, since you were able to change the oil without the ramps. [Smile] What oil & filter did you use?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
2,837
Location
MO
Call me a wimp, declare I am a wussy, chastise me, ridicule me, call me a yellow-bellied coward but just don't call me "late fer' dinner." When the critter has climbed the ramps, perched above the firmament, reponding as all things do (except, possibly, anti-particles?) to the relentless tug of gravity, I add a couple jack stands just in case a ramp crumbles, allowing the 2-1/2 ton devices to plummet. I'm just too darn pretty to be getting squished, causing America's wimmenfolk to sob in anguish as my lovely head and udder parts is ground into mush. Splat.
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
[Big Grin] Great posts,guys. [Big Grin] Wayne It's a 4WD. Didn't think of that. The ramps flew about 5 ft from the tires! I went with Penzoil 5w30 and a Motorcraft filter. I just bought this '05 Explorer with 9500 miles. I change my oil and filter in my vehicles every Nov and April and use Mobil 1 and a Napa Gold/Wix filter. So I'll do my Mobil 1 thing in Nov. Just used the dino oil and Motorcraft to get me there. [Wink]
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Messages
11,410
Location
The Sandhills of NewYorkistan
"Funny thing was I changed the oil and filter without any ramps at all! Was enough room to crawl under." ----------------------------------------------------------- I do that with the wife's Sport Trac as well. It's got a Suredrain on it and can be done while parked at the curb.
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
quote:
Originally posted by GROUCHO MARX: "Funny thing was I changed the oil and filter without any ramps at all! Was enough room to crawl under." ----------------------------------------------------------- I do that with the wife's Sport Trac as well. It's got a Suredrain on it and can be done while parked at the curb.
I just ordered a Fumoto quick drain plug. Never used a Fram suredrain. Been using Fumotos for around 15 years.
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
Well I just changed the oil and filter. While trying to go up the Rhino Ramps flew out in front of the truck and the rubber pieces came off. Never had this problem with my cars. Seems the 12000 lb limit units may be better for SUVs.. Funny thing was I changed the oil and filter without any ramps at all! Was enough room to crawl under. I've read that the company Blitz USA will send a set of rubber stops if you ask. I'll try Monday with a call.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
345
Location
Northern California
quote:
Originally posted by LarryL: If the ramps are 8000 pounds EACH (jack stands are rated each)...
I believe the Rhino ramps are rated as four ramps and then they say do not put car up on four ramps. So 2000 pounds each. I was wondering how jack stands were rated. Thanks.
 

Colt

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
1,799
Location
NJ now SC
I emailed the maker of Rhino Ramps,Blitz USA and told them the ramps shot forward and the rubber stops came off when driving my Explorer up the ramps. One rubber stop was chewed up and one ramp has plastic scraping around the rubber stop area so I can't get the stop back on. They said they won't send me the rubber stops. They will send me a new set of ramps. Great customer service! [HAIL 2 U!] They asked for a pic or two of the ramps. I send them two pics. They then thanked me and said they'll ship a set of ramps this week. [Smile]
 

Bill in Utah

Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,849
Location
UT
quote:
Originally posted by FL-400S: I change all my cars oil without ramps...why do you even need them...especially for a truck?
Because I can't get under the outfit with out them? [Confused] At 6 foot 6" and rather close to 300 lbs. I don't think I can slide under my Corolla! [Big Grin] But I use them on all the outfits I change oil (from a PT cruiser to a full size f250) it makes it easier and safer. [HAIL 2 U!] Take care, bill [Coffee]
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2005
Messages
87
Location
Knoxville, TN
quote:
At 6 foot 6" and rather close to 300 lbs. I don't think I can slide under my Corolla! [Big Grin]
I don't see how you even fit in that little car at your size. I am a 6' tall and go 240 and think my crown vic should be a tad roomier.
 

Bill in Utah

Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,849
Location
UT
quote:
I don't see how you even fit in that little car at your size.
The only time I have a problem is getting out. My right leg/knee hits the steering wheel pretty good. Just have to move my leg along with the wheel and wola! I'm out... I have to say, it's very comfy for me and a blast to drive. [Happy] Plus since I commute 120+ miles a day, getting over 40 mpg I'm sure is not hurting... [Big Grin] Back on topic, The ramps really make changing oil so much easier. I use them everytime! [Cool] Take care, bill [Coffee]
 
Top