Remington 550-1

Just a thread starter. For no other reason than to talk.

So my dad tells me he traded his Cooey bolt action repeater off for thjs rifle. He figures it was 1955 and he was 12. This was in a little general store in Quinton, Sask. I know it was the very late '90's and the store was still open to some degree.

Anyways, the date stamp gives me November 1954 for a build date. Talking with my older brothers, they think it was having some light jamming issues back in the late '80s on. I started shooting it in 2000 just after graduating high school. We would have some stove pipes about once per mag. It was also missing the ejector shield. I took it into Regina for a gunsmith to look at. Turns out the extractor claw and spring were MIA. After that she was farting through silk.

I eventually did a complete receiver tear down, yes it was complicated but once in a while I ain't dumb... lots of carbon came out but she still shot fine. I did not know about the floating chamber but I know it was loose and it did cycle all sorts or random LR and short, CB caps.

I think it was 2004 when I sanded what ever finish was on the stock. A very nice chunk of wood!! She got any dents raised and numerous coats of BLO. I will be doing a clean and oil sometime this year.

This has been my go to rifle since 2000. I prefer it to my Savage 93R17 except for longer range. I just had it out yesterday and knocked down 17 gophers. A couple shots were out to 100m. I had taken the irons off a few years ago as I had a spare scope kicking around. Today I removed the mag tube and floating chamber. A neat design for sure! I will have her out later this week for some more. Anyways, not sure why my picture is flipped..

Attachments

• 20210427_135819.jpg
    20210427_135819.jpg
    128 KB · Views: 51