Question about 'performance oil filters'

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am getting a new to me 2006 350z (133k miles) and I am curious about what filter would best be run on it. I typically run Purolator filters, but with knowing they having a tearing problem I wouldn't want to test the limits of it on a 'performance car'. I am not going for extended OCI either and do not want Amsoil filters. I am leaning towards Fram's tough guard TG6607 and running Castrol Edge 0W-30. I want good filtration but also don't want the oil restricted so much its affecting performance. I am not sure if that is even a real thing or something I have made up in my head but I figured if anyone knows it'd be the BITOG'ers! anyways, thanks for any help you can offer!

This month off and on I've been running Purolator's off and on now for over 10 years. I know they do tare but in those 10+ years I've yet to have one Tareolator on the Corolla????

Does that sports car and South Carolina need 0w oil?
I like Fram TGs. But for performance under a little engine stress, the Wix sounds like a better fit.

Originally Posted by Patrick_T
I run 0w40 or 5w40 in ga along with fram ultra 7317

That's obviously higher viscosity and geared / built towards performance.
The Ultra is noticeably different (in a plus manner) than the Toughguard.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by TrainingPolicy
I want good filtration but also don't want the oil restricted so much its affecting performance. I am not sure if that is even a real thing or something I have made up in my head but I figured if anyone knows it'd be the BITOG'ers! anyways, thanks for any help you can offer!

Are you going to be revving to redline all the time? That's the only time an oil filter might interfere with oiling system performance. No matter what oil filter you use (because they all have some flow resistance), always ensure the oil is at full operating temperature before smashing the gas pedal to the floor.