Proper Hydraulic Oil for Haulette 4527A

Pardon me - this is probably pretty basic but I'm not experienced with hydraulics. I'm helping a friend who bought a used hydraulic lift - a Haulette 4527A. This is a fairly beefy tow-behind basket lift on battery power.

The manual calls for the following oil: "HVI AW32 or equivalent hydraulic oil with a minimum viscosity rating of 175"

He's been to a few places around town and online and has found AW32 oil - parts stores, Grainger.... but we can't find anything stating the minimum viscosity of 175. Is that a thing? or is all AW32 within that spec?

Thanks!
-m

thank you. So HVI seems to mean a range. His manual says minimum 175. Yet when I can find it listed for an HVI oil, it’s been lower, like 150. Most don’t say. I’m guessing that anything that’s a VG32 and HVI is probably acceptable, but is that true?

thank you. So HVI seems to mean a range. His manual says minimum 175. Yet when I can find it listed for an HVI oil, it’s been lower, like 150. Most don’t say. I’m guessing that anything that’s a VG32 and HVI is probably acceptable, but is that true?

What you need is an ISO32 anti-wear hydraulic oil with a Viscosity Index (VI) of > 150.

See the ISO grades verses kinematic viscositys here:

P66 power flow HE 32 comes in at 172.

Mobil DTE excel comes in around 165-168.

It’s going to be rare to find a AW32 with that high of a VI.

That test can vary about 10 points depending on the day. So anything around that 165-175 range is fine.

That spec was written Rando HDMV from Chevron. Which is 180 VI.

I recently bought a used Haulotte 45XA and I was wondering the same thing. I couldn't find any hydraulic fluids easily available locally that met the 175 VI requirement. I keep pails of SUDT2 (199 VI) on hand for my 3 Kubotas and I also use it in my self-propelled hydraulic auger and wood splitter with good results. Do you guys think it would be fine to use SUDT2 in one of these lifts?