On/Off road tires level of safety on icy roads.

wemay

Site Donor 2023
I've only once driven on icy roads and that was with a rental car while working out of town. So i'm a novice on the topic but was wondering...

Would off/on road tires (like General Grabber or Toyo Open Country etc.) offer similar grip on icy roads as would a winter tire?

I've only once driven on icy roads and that was with a rental car while working out of town. So i'm a novice on the topic but was wondering...

Would off/on road tires (like General Grabber or Toyo Open Country etc.) offer similar grip on icy roads as would a winter tire?

No, not even close really. The more highway oriented tires with smaller tread blocks and more siping will be better (opposed to a mud tire) but the compound is still completely different.

No, not even close really. The more highway oriented tires with smaller tread blocks and more siping will be better (opposed to a mud tire) but the compound is still completely different.
Got it. Thanks.

I was wondering, if because they are so knobby, they dig into the ice sufficiently. Rookie thought process on something i'm completely ignorant about. Thanks for adding logic.

Siping, tread design, tread compound. They all matter for winter, particularly ice, grip. Studs are best, of course, but there is an incredible difference in grip between true winter tires and any other tire.

Take a look at a set of Noki Hakkapelliitta, for example. Great winter traction comes from a tire dedicated to the purpose.

besides going better REAL WINTER tyres stop a LOT better + 4wd or todays watered down AWD DONT help you stop sooner -SAFER

Got it. Thanks.

I was wondering, if because they are so knobby, they dig into the ice sufficiently. Rookie thought process on something i'm completely ignorant about. Thanks for adding logic.
Ice is hard, so they wouldn't dig into the ice, like fresh snow.