Old/High Mileage Additive Recommendations for long trips

Hi Everyone,

I know the term "oil additive" is a risky topic to talk about. Some love them, some hate them. I was just wondering if anyone had some recommendations. Situation:

I have a couple of road trips planned this summer in my 1999 Suburban 350. She has 205k on her. I have been using Quaker State HM 10w-40 for about 5 years now and has only had AC Delco filters since new. 3K oil change intervals. She still runs so well. Its kind of hard to kill a SBC.

I know that the car is not brand new anymore, and is aging. Should I make the trip(s) using an oil additive or just stick to my regular oil/filter routine? I've never used additives before.... never really paid much attention to them at the parts store. Is there any out there that will actually "protect" the internals better than oil by it self?

Thanks for your response,
Cole.

I've not used additives before. I think nothing of hopping into any of my vehicles and running at 80mph until I get to my destination. That might be an hour away, or 4. Once a great while much farther.

I worry more about tire condition. And "everyone else on the road".

I've not used additives before. I think nothing of hopping into any of my vehicles and running at 80mph until I get to my destination. That might be an hour away, or 4. Once a great while much farther.

I worry more about tire condition. And "everyone else on the road".
Same here. I have no doubts on the old girl. Cruises at 85, with zero issues. She just got a new set of shoes and is floatin' like Cadillac.

All antiwear and detergent additives are already in the oil. Why would you want to add some other supplements which could potentially counteract with what's already in original oil. You could make things worse by throwing off the chemical balance of already highly formulated oil.