Oil for Propane Motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

zam

Can anyone tell me what oil I should use in a propane powered pickup? Would normal gasoline oil be ok or should I use an oil for a diesel engine?

I'm new to propane, although I like it cause its cheaper than gas to buy, and I'm wondering what oil I should use?

A regular SL gas engine oil will do fine. You'll be amazed at how clean the oil will be compared to running gasoline. Propane combustion byproducts and blowby don't have all the "nasties" that gasoline introduces into an engine, and the oil (from this angle) is not stressed nearly as much by a propane powered engine.

would a natural gas engine oil work for that application? I know schaeffer #114 and #114S are for natural gas. Would it be a similar environment?

--Matt

G-man is correct.

Also Amsoil does make an oil for propane/NG engines BUT does NOT recommend it for modified gasoline engines.

[ February 24, 2003, 02:44 PM: Message edited by: Pablo ]

Pablo,

I thought Amsoil's oils were for Natural gas engines only, since NG engines require low-ash formulations.

quote:

Note: AMSOIL Synthetic Natural Gas Engine Oil should not be used in automotive engines that have been modified to use propane or natural gas.

Above is direct from the webpage.

Maybe I didn't write it correctly....

I do wonder if the oil is ok for a stationary dedicated, original build propane engine? The engines would be the same internally I would think, just different demand regulators for the differing fuels...

So, the next question is if the oil stays cleaner longer can I go to a longer drain interval. Of course, I understand the need to do analysis (after reading this board for a while) in order to establish the correct drain interval for my application but I would think if the oil stays clean longer that I could change it less often.

quote:

Originally posted by zam: