OBD2 interface for data logging

LDM

Not sure if this is the right category to post this but if not please move to the appropriate one.

Anyway, I've been using HP Tuners MPVI2 interface for around 3 years now. Saturday I went to do some data logging on my truck, the scanning programed tried to do an update to my interface, which ended up bricking it in the process. Not sure what happened, tried engaging HP Tuners customer support, to which I end up getting an answer of "Oh, well, your hardware failed for some reason, we can't tell you why, you'll need to buy a new $400 MPVI3. We also aren't going to tell you why the hardware failed because we don't want to do that, mostly because if we tell you what happen you'll be able to prove that the update we forced to your MPVI2 interface broken it and we can then be held liable."

To say the least I'm neither happy that it was bricked, that it might be fixable if they would tell me why it bricked during the update process, nor happy with what they pretend is "good customer service and that they stand behind their products." Anyway, at this point I'm looking into other possible OBD2 interfaces that would work for my data logging. GM is my primary concern as that is what I own and mostly work on although it would be nice if it could do other makes as well without extra costs. I don't want anything that requires a subscription or annual update fee, dealt with this before and it isn't worth it. I don't mind spending a little bit of money if it will do what I want although I will definitely be looking at the warranty/update process in regard to that.