New to me 2004 Expedition 5.4l Transfer Case fluid?

wlk

Hello all. I just bought an 04' Expedition, 181k miles, have been going through and changing fluids, everything so far has been in great shape as older couple had everything serviced at the local Ford dealer. I am wanting to change the transfer case fluid but have probably over-read everything and have confused myself which fluid to use. My original spec was Mercon in TC. I have read several posts and went to dealer for correct fluid. Dealer states Mercon V is new spec fluid but I have read not to use this several places- maybe old formulation (?) and to use Mercon LV several other places suggest.
I am new to Ford's, 1st I have ever bought and not had many 4x4's before. I am not brand specific but just looking for the correct fluid for this thing. Thanks

We have a great member @bdcardinal that can help with your question; Standby.

Mercon LV appears to be the current specification for those; Let's wait and see.

Last edited:
Reactions: wlk

Mercon LV
44D11DFA-FF40-41FF-81DB-EA103ED84400.jpeg

Perfect, thank you very much for your replies. I didn't think Mercon V was right and I'll grab some LV and call it a day.

Here is your owners manual recommendation: Mercon. The main thing is that basically it’s an ATF. Seems to me Mercon LV will will have a lower viscosity than regular Mercon. About 7 cSt for Mercon and 6 for Mercon LV. Not much difference.

EB1FDCCE-88E8-4EB9-9AF5-3EB159011F0F.jpg

Last edited:
Perfect, thank you very much for your replies. I didn't think Mercon V was right and I'll grab some LV and call it a day.
Bad choice. Mercon V was a normal viscosity fluid, like Mercon.
Now you are planning to get LV fluid... I guess you care more about gas mileage (0.5mpg or so ) than the life of that TC.
Next thing you know you are posting here upset that "Ford TC are crap, they fail"....
I have junked a Ford Explorer AWD, at 200k miles, with perfect TC and transmission. Used Castrol Mercon V in both.