New Synthetic Oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey guys. i have decided to switch to synthetic in my truck. (03 ford ranger 4.0 sohc 43,000mi).

i am new to the synthetic world. i have been running Motorcraft 5w30 syn blend, but this last oil change i put in valv. maxlife dino 5w30. i am not to happy with it actually. it is making my engine run wierd. low rpms at idle and start up etc.. generally feeling sludgy and lacking power!
frown.gif

im going to change it out for synthetic this week and stick with synthetic for the life of the truck.

anyways, is there anything special i need to do to switch to synthetic? ive run syn blends so i wouldnt think so but who knows i guess.
dunno.gif

mainly what im asking is what is the best synthetic 5w30 oil out there for my application? i dont want redline or amsoil or anything outrageous. just a good synthetic i can find at the auto store or wal-mart. i was thinking Pennzoil Plat. what yall think?? alot of people talk bad about Pennzoil on this site from what ive seen...

thanks in advance for any input at all! sorry this was lengthy
smile.gif

-Bo

p.s.- i dont know if this will help you guys or not?

i change my oil every 3k with the dino, and i plan on changing it every 5-7k with synthetic. dont know if that will help in oil selection
dunno.gif

Shouldn't need anything.

I suggest a true synthetic like:

Redline
Mobil1
Esso XD3 (If you are in Canada)

rotella t is going to be too thick for my engine unfortuantely! id rather not use redline.

what are the thoughts on Penn. Platinum??

Mobil 1 and Castrol Syntec are almost 6 bucks a quart around here in mid-illinois so thats why i thought about the Pennzoil. but if thats no good i will probably get Mobil 1.

thanks for the input guys!

quote:

alot of people talk bad about Pennzoil on this site from what ive seen...