New motheboard recommendations.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I have some extra dollars and I'm building a new gaming pc. Nothing out of this world and it's goingoing to be "cheap". I ordered a MSI GTX 970, I wanted the MSI R9 390 Gaming Edition but it sold out right as I went to buy it. Anyways. I settled on an i5 4690k. It's in my budget and it seems to be a fantastic cpu. I can not settle on a mobo. I'm a noob when it comes to intel, I've been AMD forever. Coming from an ancient 1090T X6 cpu I think I will be happy. Here's the two mobos I have in mind. Thanks for the help guys. Please feel free to recommend another one. I'd like to stay under $90.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=13-130-779
I found.]MSI Z97[/url]

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=13-130-760
I found.]MSI B85[/url]

Z97, the B85's sometimes need a Bios update to support the Haswell Refresh. Odds are this long into the cycle it would natively support it but you will need a z97 to overclock the CPU.

I don't know if you just prefer the Twin frozer design or its goes with the color of your build but i found a Gigabyte G1 OC (which is just a factory overclocked Windforce R9 390) on Jet.com for $309.99 and $50 off with the promo code "20now" (only good for first purchase) bringing the price down to $259.99 which is a excellent deal and even beat Newegg's deals during Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

K3lev5b.png

I thought about that card. But I heard the Gigabyte version caused the computer to never shut off and the card eventually tanked. I wanted the R9 because it has seemed to out perform the 970 in most games and that memory bus and capacity. Whew! I've never heard of that sire before. Seems pretty good!

Originally Posted By: SEMI_287