New Integra is…..

I graduated high school in 1990 and the Integra was a killer car back then. I was very excited to see how the new Integra would stack up. I was pleasantly surprised with Toyota's re-intro of the Supra. It could be me but I thought this ad campaign was also a failure. Seems to have heavily segmented this iconic vehicle to the urbanites, which is something that can be done effectively AFTER you pull in your whole prospective purchaser population. The Integra of old didn't need to place any population segment in a box to attract customers. The car did that itself.

Jon speaks of 25 years car design history and points to passion, enthusiast, etc... yet barely mentions the 1.5 turbo engine and zero images? Sure, most aren't like us on this site but you can't say 1.5 turbo from the factory and leave it at that. With all the small-displacement turbos out there it gets lost in the crowd. 6 Speed manual offering is AWESOME. Interested to see how many manuals are sold in US and also worldwide.

The ad seemed void of substance. If the new Integra end up being a legitimate remake in enthusiasts' minds, there should have been much more attention to the $30k price mentioned. If it bears out, that is a heck of a feat. Time will tell.

I wouldn’t say epic fail, but my initial reaction is “meh.”

From what I can find, the current Civic Si, which this seems to be highly based off of, is about the same 0-60 and quarter mile times… jury is still out on handling but I imagine the new Integra to be far heavier. And being the 1.5, I doubt we’ll see the glorious 8,000+rpm redline…

Only thing I can say right now is that I'm not feeling that buzz of excitement that I felt the first time I saw a '86 Integra. I was hoping for a sharp departure from their current lineup. Something not so tall and portly. Yawn. TLX Jr. with a hatch.

Acura should have taken more design cues from the NSX rather than the ILX. Make it more unique than a rebadged civic and take off 2 doors.