New GM Chairman

Status
Not open for further replies.
I like this quote.

“We look forward to working with him to complete the reinvention of G.M. and maximize the enormous potential of this new enterprise,” Mr. Kresa said.

Man, these guys have more freakin lives than an aluminum can. What is the constant attraction for companies to move a CEO from one industry to another? There is no relationship between the auto industry and a communication company. It's like CEO means you are qualified to run anything.. My wife is working on her PhD, in business. That doesn't mean she could do surgery just because she is titled "Doctor". I'm with PBM... I'm just not certain I could support GM, and I've been driving them since 1984.

Last edited:
From what I know about him, I think he is an excellent choice. He is the guy that came from SBC. He built SBC into a market leader (bought PAC Bell and others). SBC then bought Bell South & AT&T (which was on the brink of bankruptcy) and turned it back into a very profitable market leader with a real future.

He is a no [censored] kind of guy focused on the customer, product and profitability. If he can not turn GM around, I have serious doubts that anyone can.

All he'll have to do is instruct his CFO to do some forecasts, identify the profit makers and the loss offenders within the GM car family, give that data to marketing, who will pass it down to engineering and then the designers get what's left. That's how a former telecom CEO will get things done at an ailing carmaker.

Oh, and don't forget kissing the union president's shoes between conference calls.

Originally Posted By: beanoil