Need help with Transmission rebuild parts GM4L30E

Status
Not open for further replies.
1998 Acura SLX (trooper), w/GM 4L30E transmission.

The fluid was replaced six weeks ago and despite a new crush washer torqued properly, the washer weakened and started a drip that was not caught until it was over a quart down. According to an expert on this unit, the 3rd gear clutch burned up. (New fluid was dark brown and slightly burnt; no go in 3rd gear). The unit had 162k on it and worked perfectly prior to this; I had always been careful about maintenance and am very, very disappointed (and pretty surprised) in myself that I did not catch this in time. I am also surprised being 1.5 qts down could destroy a clutch; but I am not an automatic transmission guru/expert.

I have no experience rebuilding a transmission so here goes. I asked at the Isuzu forum about what kit, parts to get but got no replies. Here's what I am thinking:

New Rear main seal for engine while transmission is out,
rebuild kit for tranny w/clutch discs (plates, too? other parts?)
New torque converter
ATSG service manual for the 4L30E

Other than that and a lot of alcohol (joke), should I be thinking of anything else?
I am unclear about the plates - do I need them or...? One thing I read said to media blast and then hit with 200 grit the existing plates. Is that good or...?

I am looking at these items:

TC's:
https://www.rockauto.com/catalog/x,carcode,1313393,parttype,8668

Kits:

https://www.rockauto.com/catalog/x,carcode,1313393,parttype,8512