Model "A" trailer update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning fellow Bitogers - thought I would give you an update on trailer activities in these parts.

You might recall in the not too distant past, I posted a thread about this trailer - My uncle was a welder by trade. Back in the late 30's/early 40's, he built a trailer using the frame and front axle from a Model "A" Ford. My Dad and my uncle used this trailer to haul farm equipment between groves in Central Florida during the 40's and 50's and early 60's, then it got parked in my uncles grove, (he had a small orange grove behind his house - about 10 acres), where it became a farm trailer. My cousin still has this trailer and told me I could have it for free if I wanted it. Finally, this past week, I got some time to go check it out.

The good: The frame is in amazingly good shape. Surface rust, but nothing serious. I simply cannot get over how well the frame is preserved. It has always sat outside, never ever under cover or in the barn, yet the worst I could see was simply rust on the surface of the rails, frame and axle.

The bad: The trailer has sat in one spot for about twenty years way on the backside of my cousins property. During that twenty year period of time, an oak tree grew up and around the back part of the frame. The tree had grown big enough that it "swallowed" part of the frame. We took a chainsaw and cut the tree down and then slowly chewed away at the stump till there was just a little bit of wood left which we knocked off with a hammer and chisel. The tree "stained" the metal, but didn't seem to damage it.