Mobil 1 Truck and Suv oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 2019 Nissan Frontier (gas not flex fuel) and been using havoline Pro DS 5W30 was just at TS and they have Mobil 1 Truck and SUV oil for $14.99 ( for 5 qt 's) or about $2.99 a qt what is the consensus (opinions) on the mobil truck suv oil and going from one brand to another it's only had Havoline Pro Ds but be the same SAE SN+ 5W30 I ask as where i wasa extra mechanic for School Buses the bid fuel tires parts and etc... but never switch brand of oil " due to possible" engine damage

I cleaned out two stores of the same oil a few weeks ago. That weekend they also had an additional 25% off any clearance item so I stocked up for about 11 bucks a jug. Even at 15 bucks a jug that is still a good deal on a quality oil. I have never used this oil before so I cant add any value of how "good it is" but I suspect in your application it will be more than suitable. I also use the ProDs syn 5w30 in my Ford Fusion and really like the packaging and value for 6 qts (Fusion takes 5.8 qts) The Fusion has no complaints using the ProDs and neither do I.

There should be no problem switching oils, only a small amount gets left in the engine anyways, by the second oil change virtually nothing from the Pro DS should be left, pretty much all motor oils are compatible with each other the amount of additives may very but there's only a handful of things that are really in the oil and the base stocks are virtually the same.

When a certain oil changes from SM to SN, it may have little in common additive and base stock with the previous grade. And nothing bad happens. Changing brands is no issue. Blending brands is normally not a problem either, but the risk is greater.

Originally Posted by DIY01