Mobil 1 Super Syn. How good compared to TriSyn and others???

Status
Not open for further replies.
i have been using Mobil 1 in all of my cars and trucks for the past five years and always believed it is some of the best motor oil out there. I read a lot around the Oil test board and have seen mixed emotions on the new SS formulation. Even compared to the TriSyn formulation. What is your opinion of the M1 SS?? Other than M1, I could also see using AMSOIL which is not that much more money and seems to test consistently better.

M1 is not as good as it could be, lacking in Boundary layer lube protection, uses too little of the SS esters like they load the racing oils with.

It can be made quite good if you use some the "brew" ideas shown here. Using Lube Control, and #132 Schaeffers moly EP add.

See previous posts by MoleKule on this subject.

If you don't want to diddle with mixing the Brew then for the Money I suggest Schaeffers Blend.

If you must hav a "real " synthetic Redline is a good choice , but you will pay for it. They have a new 5w-40 that recently impressed me in a VW 1.8L Turbo posted in the UOA results section.

Amsoil is a solid oil and probably superior to any other in really cold Climates. The Drain interval recommendation is marketing to sell a overpriced oil. I say that with all due respect to the Amsoil guys here who all top notch.

[ December 10, 2002, 11:31 PM: Message edited by: Terry ]

quote:

Originally posted by Terry:
M1 is not as good as it could be, lacking in Boundary layer lube protection, uses too little of the SS esters like they load the racing oils with.

SuperSyn is a proprietary PAO, not an ester.

And I think your "home brew" methodology is a recipe for disaster.

SuperSyn is a mix of new PAO's, advanced Esters, and some additive technology borrowed from their jet engine lube division.

"And I think your "home brew" methodology is a recipe for disaster. "