Mini bikes, I have some questions.

Looking to (hesitantly and eagerly) source a decent 150-200cc big tire mini bike for the kids. I've also debated a kart, like a Yerf Dog but I think the mini bike might have less limitations on a 1.5 acre wooded lot.

It's been a number of years since I rode one as well as 3-wheelers, so a wider tire bike might work better for a 14YO.

I've been eyeballing this kit, wish it had rear suspension but not a huge deal.

Would like to make the engine as quiet as possible.

All thoughts and input appreciated. Budget....trying to stay under $1K or slightly above.

I can't help with current minibike best bets, although you're likely on the best track with a fat tire type bike.

There's a whole lot of cheap import off road bikes. The SSR line is sold by a lot of motorcycle dealers. Many displacements available. The smaller end has a 70cc pit bike with 4.7 hp and suspension at both ends. Fairly chunky knobby tires. I have no knowledge of the quality. About $1k new. Whopping 30 day parts only warranty.

http://www.ssrmotorsports.com/store/pitbike/sr70auto.php

I loved mini bikes as a kid on hard-pack, established trails.

As an adult I bought one for the family to try and instantly realized the major limiting factor: the clearance from the bottom of the rear sprocket to the ground determines how large of an object you can go over. In the case of the cheap bike I had purchased, that was about one inch. Any stick, tree root, or other obstruction over an inch tall, and the sprocket got hung up. This often resulted in the chain jumping or breaking.

After about two weeks, a bag of new master links, and two chains, we got rid of the bike and never looked back.

For general use anywhere but hard-packed trails, I’d go with a smaller “real” dirt bike.

As an adult I bought one for the family to try and instantly realized the major limiting factor: the clearance from the bottom of the rear sprocket to the ground