LSPI questions

First post noob here but read lots over the years. I had a 335i that gave up the ghost a while back and trying to wrap my mind around a full boost bone dry compression stroke and some oil getting in there causing pre-ignition and my bearing failure ultimately. the car is gone.

Wondering if something about the Castro edge Euro synth formula was less prone to pre-ignition, like is it a higher octane that can take all that heat and a dry compression stroke?

Had a friend's Volvo his wife was driving down the highway normal speed and a couple of EcoBoost trucks I heard just burnt holes in the pistons and catastrophically ruined the engines like light bulbs.. Wondering if this is a specific engine issue or any new thoughts on these lspi problems? looking into maybe another direct injected vehicle and would rather be educated before I pick one. thanks

I believe the Castro’s Edge Euro oils are
all SN or SL rated.
Something rated SP or SN+ would be better
for preventing LSPI.
The non-euro Edge full synthetic oils have this rating.

LSPI doesn’t cause bearing failure, does it? I thought it caused immediate destruction of the piston. It either happens or it doesn’t.
I believe the problem is pre ignition and not detonation. I come from a 30-plus year history of riding the knock sensors and high-powered engines that burn plenty of oil but my n54 relationship was very very short.

in a heavy duty forged piston motor like the n54 that bats and eye at a little pre-ignition, pre ignition happens at bottom dead center which causes the eventual bearing failure instead of near top dead center like detonation.

I assumed the knock sensors worked like a regular engine but that is not the case LOL