Loudest gun?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Saw the thread on hearing protection and thought to ask what shooters feel the gun with the "loudest" report is. First guesses would be a Desert Eagle .50AE if not .44Mag

I also recall seeing a site about a custom short-barreled AK47 that was said to be LOUD due to 7.62MM and shortened barrel. 7.62x39 or 7.62x51 i dont know... Different AK. AK47, AK74, AK84... Some are 5.56...

.357 sig is pretty loud. Even more to my ears than .44mag, .357 mag or anything else in a hand gun.

Rifle I'd have to throw 7mm is one of the loudest. Again to my ears with 33db plugs.

Bill

I have a Bushmaster M4 with a muzzle break that will ring some bells. M2HB has a pretty good bark though. Concur with the naval gunfire, but the 18 inchers on the Yamato class must have been right there with em.

Originally Posted By: volk06
Shotgun with a 3" slug is pretty loud. So is the S&W .50 I heard at the shooting range.

+1 3" slugs have some "bass" to them... The vented or ported barrel tip sure makes my neighbors .22LR much louder than a regular .22, it sounds from the side almost like its being shot at you.
I was looking at a 12g slug gun that had a ported barrel and I thought it would be a nasty loud kicking beast... I ended up getting an unported 20g H&R USH and its tolerable for me. 10 shots doesn't make the shoulder to sore at all.
I was reading a thread on different rounds for the military a couple days ago, and thought that having a very quiet gun would be a decent tactical advantage even with some reduced energy.

Originally Posted By: IndyIan
Originally Posted By: volk06
Shotgun with a 3" slug is pretty loud. So is the S&W .50 I heard at the shooting range.

+1 3" slugs have some "bass" to them... The vented or ported barrel tip sure makes my neighbors .22LR much louder than a regular .22, it sounds from the side almost like its being shot at you.