locking gas cap, no key...

Status
Not open for further replies.

crw

Right now I'm down to my 1975 BMW 2002 because the Mazda is being fixed. The BMW has a locking gas cap, for which I have no key. Today at lunch I tried to get the cap off... it's not coming off. It must have slipped back into locked mode. I have been using it for about five years and not had this happen.

There is a metal outer portion which is all I can grip. This part simply slides, rotates freely over the inner portion. I need to get the inner portion to engage so I can remove the cap.

Obviously I don't need a locking cap. I'm trying to decide what to do, to start drilling a small hole somewhere on the face of the cap so that I can slip a small nail inside and hopefully engage the inner portion, or start drilling through the locking mechanism?

Flathead screwdriver in the key hole turning clockwise ,Worked for me a few times .

I agree with the flat head. If you have a hard time get a hammer. The locking gas caps are all junk. Iv never seen one able to keep somone determined out.

Ha ha, this one is BMW, old school German engineering, not the modern plastic stuff! But yes, I will try that.

Sorry, the channel-locks won't work... the cap is recessed and I wouldn't be able to get them on.

I will let you know how it goes.

Hello, I went right down the middle of the locks cylinder with a SHARP 1/2" high speed steel (common fluted bit) drill bitt.

'Twasn't BMW quality but it worked on the cap this car had. Kira