Kitty on convertible top

Although I am new to convertibles, I have been aware of the potential damage a cat or other clawed animal may cause to the convertible top. I park my Mini Roadster Convertible in my garage at home but when I'm out and about the car does get to spend some time unattended in parking lots, residential areas, and out in nature. I visited a friend a few days ago and when I was ready to leave I found a large ginger Tom sunning himself on the cozy convertible top. Luckily he didn't stretch and claw or sharpen his nails but who's to say I get lucky again? How can I keep pussy cats off the top? Placing a pet-deterring mat on the roof might work but it will likely get stolen by another convertible owner. Please don't tell me to spray dog urine on the top. Kitty jokes are okay. :oops:

Last edited:
Keep the body and glass waxed with a graphine product. Too slippery for the cat to reach the top.
The cloth top goes all the way down to the trunk lid. A cat can just jump onto the trunk and walk up the high traction cloth "ramp."

Last edited:
Maybe a solar powered owl decoy with integrated motion sensor controlled ultra sound deterrent? What would Q-Branch come up with?

Exactly. The top does come all the way down to the trunk.

Not my car

When they come out with that? I was thinking,

s-l1600.jpg

Cat would have to be a mountain lion to jump all the way to the top.

s-l1600.jpg

The Roadster came out in 2011. Its a fairly uncommon model. A cat in good shape can jump 7 feet high. They usually jump on the hood or trunk first. I can see the paw prints and find a few hairs along the way.

Last edited: