K+N 225,000 miles - real life

Status
Not open for further replies.
Been reading a bit here and IMHO see alot of problems to be honest. First issue is that cleaning a K+N is usually the last thing you want to do, they work better slightly dirty, thats a proven fact.

Also with all the talk about paper filters, just how good are the paper filters after they get wet a few times? Remember the environment that these things have to work in, I don't see anyone bringing that up.

Anyway - here is my K+N story and Mobil 1 story, and I used to be an engine machinist, so this is coming from that perspective as well. No oil analysis here, true engine measurements after 12 years and 225,000 miles with a bore guage.

My mother bought a 92 Cougar with the V6 new in 1992. I immediately installed a K+N for the stock air box, and used Mobil 1 and Fram oil filters almost its whole life, about 5K between oil changes. Last year she hit the 225,000 mark and the passenger head gasket finally went - a record in its own right for this style V6 Ford but anyway, thats another story.

I pulled the heads, decked them 0.005" and they are perfect. Valve guides still within spec and tight, just needed a clean up on the exhaust seats - I have my own Neways as I still do this on the side. Didn't even need to dress the valve faces, lapped them lightly and the seal was perfect.

Looking at the block since the heads were off, noticed zero ridge visually, and actually 80% of the cross hatch is still in the cylinder walls. Setup my bore gauge to read the taper, less than 0.001" on the worst bore.

The car uses about 1/4 of a quart of oil between 5K changes currently. The inside of the engine is near spotless other than discoloration from 225,000 miles of use. Zero sludge, very slight varnish coloration here and there is it.