just bought a 2012 sonic

Status
Not open for further replies.
it has the 1.8 in it and flys down the hiway, lots of headroom and trunkroom too...if anyone else has a cruze or sonic how have they run for you? any ideas when to change the FF? i am at least going 3k...it is nice to see big 3 back on their feet again, i think this sonic will be highly competitive with any asian subcompact...the new dodge dart looks awesome

The Chevy Sonic has me more impressed than any other offering from GM. I know that sounds counter intuitive, but good reliable fun to drive economy cars are the future for most US consumers.

But, you didn't get the turbo??? NOOOOOOO!

Anyway, congrats! If I was in the market, a Sonic would be top 3.

I always liked the body style of the Aveo5,which is now the Sonic (but with a different engine, the same engine as the Cruze). The only complaint I have is price. I was a GM salesman for three and a half years. I sold a new Aveo 5 stripped down model for $8k in the fall of 2009. Shortly thereafter, the body style was updated somewhat and the same vehicle retailed for $12k. To me, this was just GM taking advantage of rising fuel prices. GM no longer offers a low priced economy car. I won't debate the merits of the Sonic, but for not much more, one can have a Cruze Eco. The Cruze Eco is a much better buy IMO. I would really like to see GM get back into the economy car segment with an auto priced in the $8k-$9k range,which is where the Sonic should be priced.

The Sonic has earned some very high marks in comparison testing and reviews I've read...except for the price. GM did a GREAT job on this car but has it priced higher than some mid-sizers. Still, have you priced used cars lately? I think the best deals out there right now are on year old models with 10,000-20,000 miles.

Originally Posted By: oilmaven