Jeep 4.0l i6 What oil should i use?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Im new here to the forum, after reading the 101 write up and looking through all the posts i decided to sign up. Now I know its been asked a bunch of times and I've been searching this topic for days but I feel like the more I read the more confused I get lol.

Im a noob when it comes to oil in fact I've never done an oil change before but people keep telling me how easy it is and I'm a firm believer of the old "if you want it done right, do it yourself" moto.

I have two jeeps, the grand cherokee my girlfriend drives on a daily basis and my wrangler is a "weekend warrior". The WJ (grand cherokee) ive owned for a year now and the TJ (wrangler) I purchased last summer. The WJ has 138k miles and the TJ has 116k miles. I only put about 300-400 miles per month on the TJ, the WJ sees 500-600 miles per month, both of which consist of mostly city driving, short trips, idling (remote starts in both), etc. We live in Mass. and the temps throughout the year are typically between 10F and 90F rarely less and rarely more.

I've only had the oil changed once when I first got them (the WJ needs one very soon). The mechanic that did it used 10w40 in both (TJ has synthetic but im not sure about the WJ and have no clue what brand) The WJ has always had that slight tick to it that sounds like a lifter or something but recently I've noticed it sounds terrible especially at start up but there's still tick when it warms up and sometimes it even vibes at a redlight.