Is Quaker State 5w-20 a Decent Oil ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been driving a Honda Civic for about 8 months, and whenever I'm in a bind for oil changes I drop into the local QS quick oil change place. I like them because they are close to my work and can change my oil pretty quickly. When you hit their oil change place you basically get QS 5w-20 oil, they don't seem to have other brands as far as I can tell. When I put the oil in my Honda Civic it feels really smooth compared to the Honda fluids, not sure how thick it is in virgin form, but I know it has a decent amount of moly, and I can instantly feel a difference when I get an oil change there. The first time I had to double check that they used 5w-20 and not 5w-30 because it felt differnet, but they did us the 5w-20.

I also have a Ford Fusion 3.0L v6, and it calls for 5w-20 oil as well. In a recent visit to my local Canadian Tire store, Quaker State 5w-20 was one of the few 5w-20's available, so I just put that into the Fusion (I don't want to go synthetic quite yet with low milage). So I am not running it in two vehicles. It might be coincidental but the QS 5w-20 also feels a bit thicker in my Fusion, same difference is felt after an oil change to QS. I haven't checked to see if it meets Ford specifications, but I assumed that it did, can't see how an OTC oil wouldn't meet Ford specs, but I could be wrong. I was on a search to find Havoline 5w-20 but couldn't find it at Wallyworld or Canadian Tire, so I went with QS.