Is diesel- or just gasoline-rated syn. oil better for gasoline engines?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've stayed away from the diesel-rated oils ('bout all the 15W-40s and now some 5W-40s) because of the additional detergent/dispersant required for the diesel soot. Also, Red Line recommends against using their diesel-rated 15W-40 oil in gasoline engines "...since it could increase the tendency for spark plug fouling".

However, lots of you, and Mobil, too, recommend Mobil's Delvac 1 for gasoline engines.

Can some oil-technology-educated participant discuss the trade-offs here?

I'm no expert but I think as long as your car is buring oil, you should be fine. In a high mileage car or one that uses a lot of oil, I'd be less likely to use a diesel oil. I do think they are among the best at keeping your engine clean. S3k and Delvac 1 are the strongest oils from each company. Redline is also against using synthetic right away and wants people to wait 3k miles yet many cars come factory filled with synthetics. I think Redline's tech staff is weak and misinformed many times.

quote:

Originally posted by buster:
...as long as your car is buring oil, you should be fine. In a high mileage car or one that uses a lot of oil, I'd be less likely to use a diesel oil.

Did you mean to say 'as long as your car is NOT burning much oil'? Mine consumes about a half-quart per 10,000 miles.

Jeff,

This is just my "edumacated" opinion, but I believe that the HDEO sulfated ash issue is way overblown.

I do believe that in laboratory tests that the ash that accumulates in the combustion chamber and valve area is measurably higher, but in REAL WORLD driving and operating conditions, any higher accumulation doesn't matter, and I've never seen nor heard of any problems with the use of HDEO oil in gasoline engines.

Sure, the SA in HDEO oils is higher, but when you consider modern synthetic PCEO oils come in around 1.2 or so, and with HDEO's at 1.3-1.5, I see no reason to worry.