Idle Nightmare

While working Alfa/Bravo shifts during my years as a Police Officer, i recall idling for over 7 hours during a couple hurricanes down here. The Crown Vic just shrugged it off. I can't imagine for a few days though.

Originally Posted by tbm5690
I struggle in understanding why push button tech has anything to do with people inadvertently leaving vehicles running...it's no different than if you left a physical key in the ignition and got out of the car. Vehicles beep at you when you remove the key with it running, and many have the option to keep the doors locked until the engine is shut off which is more than what was around in the past for keyed ignition safeguards. IMO, it's people's distraction that has increased this and not the technology.

The distraction and short attention span that a lot of people have today play a part in this. Another reason is that many cars are so quiet when they are running you hardly can tell.

Taking the key out of the ignition while the engine is running? Either you mean the fob or you have a very old car.

Didn't Chrysler have a recall on their rotary shifters a couple years ago? People forgetting the car was in gear while exiting or something?