I bought a set of real knives

I got tired of the junk plastic handle mass produced knives I had and broke down and bought a starter set of Warthers knives. My parents have had their set for 25+ years and they are as good as new. Mine arrived in the mail today and it was a pleasure to slice and dice with them. These things are a fine example of handmade AMerican craftsmanship. They'll last me a lifetime.

How bout Henkels or Sabatier? Got a set of Henkels which I have been using for the last 22 years, not a single problem. Solingen steel rules.

Joe1

quote:
How bout Henkels or Sabatier?
Henckels and Sabietier are the Mobil 1 of knives. Warthers are kind of like the Schaeffer oil of knives: Difficult to find, small company, they don't advertise, and only real knife buffs know about the brand. Only reason I knew about them was I visited their museum as a child and my parents had a set.

Joe1, thanks for this information, I think?? My wife has been wanting a new set of knives for the past 5 years. I pulled up the Warthers website and let her go through it. Told her to order what ever she wanted for Christmas. Well, $650 later we have knives on the way. Thanks again [Big Grin]

Joe1

quote:
$650 later we
Wow, You must have bought the big big complete set. I'm a single guy and just got the 3 knife starter set. I remember taking a tour of their woodcarving museum/knife making as a youth about 25 years ago...If I ever make it to Ohio again, I'll be sure to return.

Wow is not the exact word I used when she told me what she had done. 1 - 9 piece block set. 1 - 8 5" steak kives in counter block. 1 - 10" Diamond sharpner. 1 - Cutting board. I thought she might have done what you did or maybe a small set of steak knives. I had no idea she would do this. Guess that's what I get for telling her to order what she wanted. Maybe that means she will be cooking more steaks for me now. [Big Grin]