How to ask for raise/promotion

Pew

I've been at my current job at an Engineering firm since 2016 as an IT Helpdesk but I've been the only IT guy, taking care of the entire system, including servers, phones, desktop, every single program licenses, bills, etc. I do everything an IT director/manager does but I don't have the title or the pay to match and I've been really itching for a promotion and raise but I just don't know how to ask. It's annoying since people expect me to be able to work on anything that has a USB port or plugs into the wall but I'm trying to figure out just why am I taking care of all this when it's not even my job title too?

I know it'll be a big uphill battle. According to what some employees overheard, the owner of the company thinks I get "paid enough for my age." Also, while I've been doing IT since 2014, I don't have any certs or formal education in IT either so I'm kind of leery on my ability to find another IT job that is more than just a helpdesk position.

How should I approach my boss to ask for a raise and promotion?

EDIT: I'd also like to add that I sometimes help our IT consultants with their clients. They normally take care of any high level issues that I can't do related to VMware, Starwind, and Nakivo.

Last edited:
I might be inclined to not ask for a raise, but ask for them to pay for the certifications you need in order to actually work that position. If they agree to that, get the certifications, and on down the road, ask for the raise. If they don't give it, pack it in and take your new certifications somewhere that will pay you what you are worth.

I might be inclined to not ask for a raise, but ask for them to pay for the certifications you need in order to actually work that position. If they agree to that, get the certifications, and on down the road, ask for the raise. If they don't give it, pack it in and take your new certifications somewhere that will pay you what you are worth.