Honda Offering extended warranty. Confused by language in the release.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Long story short. I bought a civic, had a lot of issues with it. They've been corrected. Honda is offering me a 5yr/120k warranty as an "apology". There is a release in required to sign. But, the language is confusing.

I can't decide if this states that the listed items will not be covered under warranty OR I will not be able to sue or bring any cases against them for the parts listed.

Can anyone help me out here? All the lawyers I spoke with stated it would be $250 for them to review this one page.

Link to the paper in question. I've blacked out all the sensitive info.

Thanks a bunch.

Last edited by a moderator:
Guess it's not so CONFIDENTIAL anymore.
I would be tempted to sign & run it on this 5 year/120k warranty.
Unless this specimen already has 60k+.?

I'm not a lawyer, but the way I read it is they're giving you the warranty in exchange for your right to sue the dealer and Honda, or to lemon law the car.

Originally Posted by vw7674
Guess it's not so CONFIDENTIAL anymore.

Yep. NDA is part of No. 5.

It does look like your current warranty stays intact. Read the last two sentences of No. 2.

I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by dishdude
I'm not a lawyer, but the way I read it is they're giving you the warranty in exchange for your right to sue the dealer and Honda, or to lemon law the car.

this is how i read it also.

Same here.

My question is: What is covered in the "vehicle service contract". This sounds like an aftermarket warranty they're giving you for free, NOT an extension of the manufacturers warranty. Most of these service contracts have different levels of coverage, e.g. bronze, silver, gold, platinum. Granted, it's free, and some coverage is better than none, but still. It may not be as great a "deal" as it sounds.