Help with oil choice for Australian turbo falcon.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all I'm wondering what oil is better for the XR6 turbo produced here in Australia?

I'm a mechanic but I don't quite understand the difference between these three oils http://www.penriteoil.com.au/products.php?id_categ=1&id_brand=1&id_products=2 http://www.penriteoil.com.au/products.php?id_categ=1&id_brand=5&id_products=360 http://www.penriteoil.com.au/products.php?id_categ=1&id_brand=3&id_products=278
I use the semi synthetic 10w-40 on the non turbo flacons until the FG series where I use the recommended HPR5 which is a full synthetic 5w-40 I just put that down to the VVT system and seals. Now I understand that the turbo variant of this engine requires a thicker grade of oil but I was wondering if any one that knows Penrite oils could explain the differences between the oils listed in the link? I was moreso wondering if the ten tenths racing oil would be a better oil to use especially in applications where the owner has turned the boost up.

The engine is a 4.0l (250ci) inline 6 cylinder with a garret gt35 in the early applications then I think they went to a larger turbo. The barra engines have dual cam phasers for variable cam timing but both cam move in relation to each other so in essence they are like a single cam controlled engine.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Barra_engine

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: FordCapriDriver
The Penrite HPR 10 10W-50 full synthetic should do the trick

Yea that is currently what I use but I was thinking the ten tenths might be better for cars with higher output power than normal. I just don't know enough about oil to know
smile.gif

Ford's spec in the manual is 15W40, which means that you are limited to dinos and semi synths.

If it were mine, I'd use Penrite racing 10W40...or at Repco, you can get Motul 10W40 sometimes.

Hi Rdyno,

Welcome !!

I like the Turbo Falcons, nice cars.