HELP me SUPER SLUETHS: ABS/Brake/Traction Lights!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
26,786
Location
CA
It looks like you need to scan the vehicle with a scan tool that has the capability to read all modules. Without this information, we are shooting in the dark.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
8,371
Location
MIchigan
Disconnecting the battery.....isn't likely going to do a thing. Fixing the source of the problem will.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
37,839
Location
ME
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Disconnecting the battery.....isn't likely going to do a thing. Fixing the source of the problem will.
If he had a transient issue, like a voltage spike, it just might. And it's free, and he isn't getting a real scan tool or seeing a real mechanic. It would also help us nail down if it's a hard fault in the ABS module or something that triggers when rolling, eg a wheel sensor.
 

SumpChump

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
1,980
Location
Upper Midwest by the Lakes USA
Originally Posted By: eljefino
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Disconnecting the battery.....isn't likely going to do a thing. Fixing the source of the problem will.
If he had a transient issue, like a voltage spike, it just might. And it's free, and he isn't getting a real scan tool or seeing a real mechanic. It would also help us nail down if it's a hard fault in the ABS module or something that triggers when rolling, eg a wheel sensor.
Good point. Will try it.
 

dishdude

$50 Site Donor 2022
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
13,159
Location
Phoenix
Originally Posted By: The Critic
It looks like you need to scan the vehicle with a scan tool that has the capability to read all modules. Without this information, we are shooting in the dark.
THIS is what op NEEDS to DO in order to SLEUTH this issue..
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
5,570
Location
New Zealand
Originally Posted By: ls973800
Make sure your brake light switch isn't sticking.
The brake light switch also controls cruise control, if your car has cruise control and that isn't working, check that out. It's a dual function switch, so the brake lights may still work.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
28,156
Location
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Like Critic and others have said you need a scan tool to find out whats going on, without it you are dancing in the dark knocking stuff over. Chances are its a front wheel sensor, the rear is a different style and rarely fail, not unknown but not as common as the front. This one like many Toyota's uses a long cable with brackets and all sorts of attachment hardware so its quite expensive, Rock Auto has them from B&A which were 2 months ago reboxed OW sensors (that's the last time I bought one) and at $95 is a good deal. Go to AA or AZ and have them read the AB?S code or if you do a lot of your own work invest a few bucks in a more capable tool.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
436
Location
Caribbean
Remove the cluster panel and remove the bulbs, problem solve :P Get someone with a high end scanner, they should be able to clear the codes
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2004
Messages
1,875
Location
VA
I had that combination of lights on a 2010 Vibe, and it turned out to be a rear wheel sensor and harness. VSC Off was flashing, and the ABS, Traction, and Brake lights were on steady. I took it to Advance and their reader happened to read ABS codes--codes were C1403, C1422, C1407. I didn't have the time or place to fix it myself that February, so I had it done when it was at the dealer for a recall. The tech said the harness had shorted and it took out the sensor. On the Vibe, Toyota/GM were kind enough to design it so the entire hub needs to be replaced rather than just the sensor. To go along with earlier comments, the codes will help you figure out what to fix or know what to expect if you take it somewhere.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
2,960
Location
British Columbia, Canada
I had the Stability Control light come on (with commencement of wheelspin) on my 2000 BMW. A specialist repair place quoted a very large amount to repair it (something like $1400). I elected to wait and see. After a while the ABS light started coming on intermittently and the speedometer started to work only intermittently. (I'm not sure about the brake warning light.) I had to use the tach to monitor my speed whenever the speedometer quit. I had a card handy with RPM and speed in each of the 5 gears. But the brakes still worked well (in reasonable driving, and on pavement anyway). So I did some reading. It's a famous trifecta, for BMWs anyway, and easily fixed. I sent my ABS module in to Module Masters and had it rebuilt for $300 US (with a 5 year guarantee). It took less than 5 minutes to take out and replace the module. And everything including the speedometer worked perfectly again. That was 2 or 3 years ago.
 

SumpChump

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
1,980
Location
Upper Midwest by the Lakes USA
Originally Posted By: Trav
Like Critic and others have said you need a scan tool to find out whats going on, without it you are dancing in the dark knocking stuff over. Chances are its a front wheel sensor, the rear is a different style and rarely fail, not unknown but not as common as the front. This one like many Toyota's uses a long cable with brackets and all sorts of attachment hardware so its quite expensive, Rock Auto has them from B&A which were 2 months ago reboxed OW sensors (that's the last time I bought one) and at $95 is a good deal. Go to AA or AZ and have them read the AB?S code or if you do a lot of your own work invest a few bucks in a more capable tool.
Update: the abs,vsc, and. Rake lights all went off after a few starts and short trips. BUT then on a restart at a out 7mph in a parking lot coasting it ran its typical little abs "test" (whatever you call it when it make the squishing sound cycling the abs motor but not actually braking actively). After that lettle self test it started flashing all three lamps again.
 

SumpChump

Thread starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
1,980
Location
Upper Midwest by the Lakes USA
Originally Posted By: dishdude
Originally Posted By: The Critic
It looks like you need to scan the vehicle with a scan tool that has the capability to read all modules. Without this information, we are shooting in the dark.
THIS is what op NEEDS to DO in order to SLEUTH this issue..
Here are the codes. They cleared then via scantron for me amd came right back on at startup. C0210 Right rear Speed sensor C0215 Left rear speed sensor C1238 Foreign object attached to tip of right rear speed sensor C1239 Foreign object attached to tip of left rear sensor
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
19,781
Location
NH
Both rear sensors throwing the same code? I'd be wondering about a pinched harness someplace. Although "object next to tip" makes me wonder if it's loaded with rust, somehow. How hard is it to pull the sensors?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
28,156
Location
MA, Mittelfranken.de
They are attached to the rear of the hubs, I would also be looking at the harness. Both failing at the same time isn't something I would expect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top