Help me make sense of what could have happened

Status
Not open for further replies.
Earlier this year a close relative of mine was killed by a gun shot wound to the chest while trail bike riding.
During the ride those with him had heard rifle shots but not close. The bullet hit him while he was riding at moderate speed and struck him in the chest killing him almost instantly.
At the time of the incident there was not evidence that he had indeed been shot, meaning no obvious impact wound, it was only discovered after paramedics arrived that a bullet had hit and exited his body. No bullet was recovered.
Obviously a tragic incident like this leaves a lot of unanswered questions, and loved ones trying to make sense of what might have happened.
The police report (still under investigation) suspects a stray bullet or ricochet!
I have very little knowledge of hunting rifles but wonder at what range could this have happened ? Would a hunting round pass cleanly through the body ? Is a ricochet plausible?

I understand this may not be 'an appropriate' topic for this forum. If so I understand the moderators may wish to remove it.
I am just trying to make sense of something that doesn't make sense.

All possible as stated above.
Shotgun slugs and pistol bullets like 45 acp and many others can bounce around and easily kill people at long distances.

I used to shoot Tommy guns in the day and you would not believe how they bounced around.
That is a very sad situation and i am sorry for your loss. The shooter most likely knows nothing about the incident.

I agree that many calibers can ricochet but to have such velocity must have been a necked rifle cartridge IMHO.

My guess is some clowns were not aware of the backstop. Fundamental rule. Bullet from rifle passed unimpeded through the woods.

This assumes riding was in proper place.