Grocery price shopping?

JHZR2

Staff member
We not have a third mouth to feed, and with Thanksgiving coming, it made me think about the fact that I have no idea which store might have the best prices for each item. Sometimes it may be worth it to go to more than one store, other times not. We have plenty of decent grocery stores within short distances of home.

So I’m curious if folks have good ways to price shop. If there are shopping apps or sites or some good way to determine who has the best price.

Tomorrow I plan to buy an oven stuffer roaster chicken. It would be my test case. Any recommendations of whatnapps or sites you use to find best prices?

Thanks!

If time is a concern, pick one. I find Walmart to be the best price overall, Kroger next, then Safeway. If you have the time though, hit the grocery store apps and clip coupons. You'll spend some time hitting them all, but the savings are very very measurable.

I've been doing the family grocery shopping for 20 years. Sometimes I have the time, sometimes I don't and my shopping habits vary accordingly.

I check mail ads often and little time with online ads for my very local stores. It's common sense that I have utilized long before prices gone up. I won't spend much time researching sites to save seventy five cents on a chicken since the price per pound is very competitive.

Every Wednesday we get the Area Shopper delivered for free that has grocery ads, classified etc. We only have four grocery stores and two are Hy-Vee which is more like High-Vee as in prices. Hard to beat Wally around here unfortunately, if I had alternatives I would use them.

If time is a concern, pick one. I find Walmart to be the best price overall, Kroger next, then Safeway. If you have the time though, hit the grocery store apps and clip coupons. You'll spend some time hitting them all, but the savings are very very measurable.