Good states to setup life

I am interested in automotive, military engineering. I like testing things
There are Department of Defense R&D and testing facilities all over the country that hire tons of engineers. I've been working at one for 23+ years now. As one of the first replies to your OP noted, your eventual happiness won't be about so much of what's being discussed in this thread - the political climate, culture war side(s), housing prices, etc of where you land. It will be about personal fulfillment, relationships, etc. A job you enjoy goes a long way to support that.

PM me if you want some insight into working for DoD.

jeff

Or you could choose Clarksburg, WV to have the best lasagna in the history of cooking indoors whenever you want at Minard's Spaghetti Inn. Or choose Louisville to have Mike Linnig's whenever you want and Mark's Feed Store BBQ when you aren't enjoying Mike's. Definitely worse reasons to pick a place than delicious food.
I feel like good lasagna is a pretty low bar for picking a place to live. I have heard good things about Kentucky though.

I feel like good lasagna is a pretty low bar for picking a place to live. I have heard good things about Kentucky though.
And yet enjoying extremely good food can make many problems seem less severe. I feel like exceptional food raises the bar higher than many things. And mentioned not as the reason, just a factor in evaluating.

And yet enjoying extremely good food can make many problems seem less severe. I feel like exceptional food raises the bar higher than many things. And mentioned not as the reason, just a factor in evaluating.
Learning how to cook for yourself, which of course you can do wherever you end up, is waaaay more valuable on a daily basis than access to superlative restaurants. I tell my younger colleagues (good grief I'm only 45 lol) that they've already got the good job, now just make sure they can cook and they'll have no trouble with the ladies :)

jeff