GM, California to Bust ‘3,000 Mile Myth’

Status
Not open for further replies.
It ain't no myth, if your oil is contaminated and needs to be dumped at 3k.

The majority of modern cars could go 5000 on normal oil without one issue whatever. 3000 is outdated, and it's time for oil companies to also promote 5000 as the new minimum.

where's merkava4 when you need him?
grin2.gif

I've been doing 5k oci for almost ten years now with dino oil,no problems whatsoever.

http://www.passatworld.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-204838.html

I'm wondering that this car has to go every 5000 miles (8000km) to an oil change and every 10000 miles (16100km) to a more or less minor/major service. I already asked VW USA about this but there where not able to give me an explanation. They recommended to ask VW Germany. I sent them an email but they didn't answered yet. So maybe one of you guys can give me an answer on my question. You can get the same oil quality than in Germany. The wearout of engine, breaks and other wear parts should be much less than in Germany because you drive slower and the acceleration time is shorter. The same engine (with slighty different horse powers) is used in different kind of German Volkswagen cars (New Beetle, Passat, Bora, Sharan, Golf III, Golf IV) and Audi cars (TT,A3,A4,A6) , too. Most is these car have at least every 15000km (9300 miles) oil change and every 30000km (18600 miles) minor/major service or "LongLife" service with much less service intervalls (The maximum length of time between services can be 24 months or 30,000 km (20,000 miles) for standard ignition engines and 50,000 km (30,000 miles) for diesel engines)