Full Synthetic 15w40 Oils

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everybody,
So I'm interested in switching from dyno to full synthetic in my diesel Rabbit. I've never used a synthetic oil before. My owner's manual says to use 15w40 (or if it gets really cold, a 10w40).
I'm interested in switching to a full synthetic for several reasons (in no particular order):

1. Extending my OCI.
2. To see if I can lower my oil consumption.
3. To see, first hand, whether I can boost my mpg with synthetic oil.
4. I only put about 6000-7500 miles on my rabbit a year. So, I think I could get away with an annual oil change. I live in southeastern Iowa. It is my hope that with a synthetic, I could leave 15w40 in year round (as opposed to switching to 10w40 every winter).

Now, here is my question. After reading the archives of BITOG and doing some other research, I've come to determine that there aren't too many full synthetic 15w40 oils. In fact, from what I can tell there are only four:

a)Amsoil
b)Redline
c)Royal Purple
d)Neo
e)Shaeffers -- not a full synthetic, but considered by many to be better than the full synthetics, am I correct in this analysis?

**Mobile 1 doesn't seem to have a 15w40.

Are there any other full synthetic 15w40 oils that I'm not considering? What are your thoughts on the best way to go here?

It seems like people don't seem to like Royal Purple too much here on BITOG. Why is that? So far, it appears to be the only one on the list above that I can buy in my town (available at Napa). But I could order the others off the Internet, I suppose. Also, is Shaeffer's really as good as (or better than) these full synthetics?

The cost of each oil is probably the least important option to me (don't want to waste money though). I'm a mpg geek, so if any on that list stands a better chance than the others to raise my mpg (even if only a couple %), that would be very important to me.

Thank you for your input and thoughts!
Bryan Walton