Fram Titanium 20k mile oil filters at AAP....

Originally Posted by ABN_CBT_ENGR
Originally Posted by wemay
I'm not an engineer so maybe there's a legitimate reason I'm not aware of for this situation. But as a layman, when I see a filter was designed with operational louvers in mind and some of those louvers are not "open", wouldn't that equal a manufacturing error?

Fair and very legitimate question- please let me address it (in theory since we do not know the design engineering of the application)

A hole (orifice) is a hole- be it round or any other shape. In flow it allows a metered amount to pass through creating a "pool" on the high pressure side and a "jet" (higher velocity) on the other.

You put an orifice plate in a pipe to meter flow- thus the "hole" variant.

This is not even addressing vortexing or cyclonic flows- beyond the scope of this answer.

The "louver" does the same thing but also changes a direction on one side while creating a "weir" on the other which changes velocity and can create various states of suspension or other properties of a fluid such as particle separation ( look up the separator on a screw compressor air end to see an application of how this works)

So, whoever selected the louver has a design point in mind ( they are more expensive than just a hole punch die set) and that design point has a flow range.

So the question then becomes is the "slit" ( orifice size) within design tolerance ( to provide design flow) or not.

If its not- we have a defective filter, if it is then carry on.

That's the question to be addressed and it cannot be accurately determined with nothing more than a visual observation by people who don't understand the science or construction involved and base the "decision" solely on an "it looks like" analysis evaluated by a "Heres what I think" set of standards.

That's why I asked did anyone ever contact the OEM to see or just jump to baseless unfounded conclusions shored up wholly by a guess?