For all you Rush (the rock band) fans and drummers alike...

Status
Not open for further replies.
From the news section at 2112.net/powerwindows...

Link to page:
http://www.bobbysbrane.com/animation fun/animation-fun.html

My rating: A++++!
Being a drummer that has grown up on Rush since 1980 to the present, I can tell this guy nails the nuances!! WOW! The only thing better would be to animate the live version of that song that includes the drum solo. But, if he did that, he might not be done animating it until 2009!! LOL

Makes me wish I still owned my Peart replica-kit: all 12 drums, 11 cymbals and Simmons pads!

Cool. Another Rush fan. I've seen them on their last two tours when they came through Dallas. I've been a drummer since I was 8, as my Dad was. I have studied Neil since Moving Pictures and throughout the 80's. I also send in a drum solo to Modern Drummer in the earlier 80's for a contest the Neil had and the winner would get his 2112 drumset. Needless to say, I didn't win but what a thrill that was creating that tape knowing that my idol would maybe listen to it. Through all the bands I played in, I always threw in some Rush licks. In fact, my drum solo had quite a few Peart licks on it too.
What a great video. Pretty close to the real Peart. Snare drum is a little higher than it should be. I've always wondered how he could do so much hihat work with it sitting so low and far from the snare. One thing I did learn from Neil, never Rush the tempo and you don't always need to be "lead" drummer.

Ive always admired his ability more than any drummer Ive been aware of. Very intelligent drummer. Got a 3ft deep double bass black pearl set when I was a teen and learned to play by ear. Tom sawyer was my favorite rush song to learn, a literal rush to play along with the song on the loud stereo I had. Great workout playing the drums, my forearms were thick and rock hard. I miss playing them.