Fairly comprehensive ingredient explanation for a boutique style oil.

Status
Not open for further replies.
so for us regular guys it means?? sounds like they are saying their PAO based oils with special VII can be made to perform as good as more costly aka Ester based oils. we need a pro here for his technical expertise!!

Looks to me that they use a PAO, throw in some ester for polarity and add a small amount of particular VI in their additive package. I'm no scientist and the interpretation from German to English is sometimes puzzling.

Some ester is ok but too much needs balancing with additives to combat seal swelling and also to combat it's natural ability to absorb and retain moisture. Ester is good in limited portions and when the right additives to control it are in place. It is also a good higher end additive carrier and provides some cleaning benefit as well but it is costly and it's why companies like M1 will use Grp-III instead because it's benign for the most part to seals and carries additives well and when boosted with PAO it can be used for longer drain intervals.

I have been using esters for 8 years with cutting filters open, there are no issues with modern esters and haven't been since they solved the issues after they were first made. Backed up with uao's and 50 other guys using esters just as long. it is disinformation.

Hey OP thanks for that pdf, great info. Getting close to the golden egg, self healing vii's.

Read what I wrote. Esters are fine when balanced with proper additives and/or other groups of oils to offset their natural seal swelling effects and attraction of moisture. It's the Esters properties not me making it up. Ask someone like Molakule if you don't want to believe me.

Right … and use utility amounts of ester and AN … and every single formula is a different blend …
But that's just dealers choice when making them all and not going full tilt GTL …