Educate me on mini's

Hey everyone I've been looking around for a fun yet practical ish daily driver for me. I'm looking to spend around 7k. I found an 04 mini Cooper s darn thing looks pretty clean. It's hard a fair amount of work done. I imagine they are not the easiest to work on but I have zero experience with them what do I need to know?
I wanted a fun zippy stick shift car with a car community around it. I like different cars so the mini kind of pulls at my heart strings a little bit.

Hey everyone I've been looking around for a fun yet practical ish daily driver for me. I'm looking to spend around 7k. I found an 04 mini Cooper s darn thing looks pretty clean. It's hard a fair amount of work done. I imagine they are not the easiest to work on but I have zero experience with them what do I need to know?
I wanted a fun zippy stick shift car with a car community around it. I like different cars so the mini kind of pulls at my heart strings a little bit.
I had an '05 Cooper S with a pulley and Invidia header + "one ball" mod.

Absolute blast to drive and sounded great. Fairly practical as well. Mine was still relatively new and all you really had to worry about was the belt tensioner and checking the supercharger for leaks. I don't think they're aging very well but if you're buying one that is cared for you'll probably enjoy it overall.

That is the first gen known as R50. Research The issues with that particular build / config.

Common Issues with MK1 MINIs

The MK1 MINI Cooper had three engines offered. S and JCW models came with a 1.6-liter supercharged Tritec engine. Naturally aspirated 1.6- and 1.4-liter engines were used in MINI One and base Cooper models. Generally, the Tritec engines are more reliable than the engines used in new MINI models, but they are not free from issues. Here are some of the most common mechanical issues that occur on MK1 MINIs.

• Water pump leak
  • Oil filter gasket
  • PCV (positive crankcase ventilation) system