Drive type, does it matter?

I think they are staying with heaver chains because of EC... Engineers Choice... but some Engineers did choose to race and win employing the light weight belt advantage...

View attachment 156432

BLS, I do appreciate your reply, but I am not sure I agree with it. As an engineer, I want to win...and I can't imagine the pressure put on an engineer that is in charge of making design choices for a race bike. I must consider safety of the rider, reliability, weight, power transfer, but most importantly winning. If race engineers choose (for the majority) over and over to go with chains...there has to be a competitive advantage. Why? It is heavier...maybe more robust (reliable) under race conditions (which has often been given up for speed advantage), or more efficient to get more power to the tarmac.
I am personally a belt fan...if I had the choice, both my rides would have it, but there has to be a reason chains are chosen for high performance bikes again and again. As an engineer, I would have to hang my hat on efficiency and reliability. I really do love belts, one of my top three favorite bikes I owned was a Buell XB12XT...loved that drivetrain...wish I never would have sold it. A belt would be perfect on my Husky! I have to say it would kill the character of my Guzzi though ;-)

Power transfer (NOT COST) is #1 in racing, with weight being a close second. If the chain system is heavier...why are they staying with chains?
The real answer is for quick/easy gearing changes. There are many more manufactures of sprockets V the Cog wheels that belts use.

The real answer is for quick/easy gearing changes. There are many more manufactures of sprockets V the Cog wheels that belts use.