Delvac 1300 for LT1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys i've been lurking here for 2 years and decided to join tonite. it seems my car is in need of an oil change (i change it every 3000-4500 miles) i run Mobil 1 5w40 Truck and suv in my caprice and i went to wally-world to get my usual 5 quart jug and to my suprise it was labeled 5w30, in fact all of them were. then i heard some good things about delvac 1300 and was wondering what you guys thought of it. if it seem alright to you guys then ill keep running it. i believe my local autozone only has 15w40, will this be ok? sorry for the long post, i just want to be sure.

TIA

-Brett-
cheers.gif

I wouldn't run Delvac 1300 15w40 in the winter in NJ. See if you can get Shell Rotella T-Syn 5w40. Save the Delvac, Delo, Rotella 15w40 for the warmest 6 months.

i can get the rotella t there. wouldn't the 15w40 be almost the same as a 5w40? sorry im new to oils
frown.gif

No. The ROTELLA® T Synthetic 5w40 is made with different basestocks and will pump through your engine much better in the cold winter weather during engine startup and as the engine gets up to temperature.

dosen't delvac come in 5w40? only reason i want diesel oil is because i've heard they have more deterganted in them.

-Brett-

mobil changed the truck and suv to 5w30 as you noted. The Mobil 5w40 now says it is for diesels, but the only thing that has changed is the name. Should be with the other Mobil oils, if not, walmart may not have it in yet.

Rotella T synthetic 5w40(4 quart blue jug) is sold(or should be) at walmart. With those fairly short change intervals it would be great and cheaper than Mobil.

You can use the regular 15w40 when it gets a little warmer outside.

Even during the warm parts of the summer, does anybody ever think 15w40 would be hard on the oil pump/drive in a vehicle that calls for 5/10w30?