Deep fryer questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Peanut...throw in some beef dripping if you want REALLY good chips.

Throw it out (or compost it, or turn it in to biodiesel), as you won't be using it again in any reasonable period of time in a deep frier.

If the lid goes "gummy" you don't want to deep fry in it.

When my grandmother makes french fries she strains hers through a cheesecloth into a jar and uses it again within a one-week period. Twice is about it, after that it doesn't taste too great. And it's my understanding that you don't want to re-use it except with the same kind of food - otherwise the flavor of food #2 may be colored by food #1. Of course, I'm no expert.

When I deep fry stuff in mine I usually do a large amount of food (we in the southern US call it "a big mess" of food) and then throw the oil away. I only fry stuff every few months, so it wouldn't be wise to try and store it.

As far as temperature goes, I have a light on my deep fryer that indicates proper temp. When frying in a pan, I was always taught to take a very small bit of batter and throw it in the grease. If it doesn't start bubbling quite a lot as soon as it hits the oil it's not hot enough. It takes some practice, but you'll get the hang of regulating the temp. I'm sure there's a thermometer for this purpose, but I've never used one.

I'd recommend trying japanese 'panko' breadcrumbs on shrimp. It's easy to tell when they're done and they're one of the best fried foods IMO. They're exceptional drizzled with eel sauce, though it's a hard sauce to find.

Peanut oil is the best to fry with-most stable+high smoke temp.

Oil goes rancid/oxidizes. If possible keep the oil in a covered container in the fridge between uses and it will last a long while.